

(Affiliated to Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, New Delhi) Plot No. 48/4, Knowledge Park III, Greater Noida

## **REPORT**

## 6th EDITION OF SENATE MOOT COURT COMPETITION, 2022

## **JEMTEC School of Law**

Session:	2021-22	Semester:	-
<b>Event Date:</b>	28 <sup>th</sup> – 29 <sup>th</sup> April, 2022	<b>Event Type:</b>	SENATE
Event Name/Title:	6 <sup>th</sup> EDITION OF SENATE MOOT COURT COMPETITION, 2022		
Organizing Department	School of Law	Organizing Student club / Society /Committee if any	Moot Court Society

JEMTEC School of Law, affiliated to GGSIP University New Delhi, has organized the 6th Edition of Senate Moot Court Competition, 2022, with an overall participation of 14 teams from various semesters. The eligibility criteria for the senate moot court competition were based on the results of the subject moot court competitions and the competition was also open for the other students also. The moot proposition was based on Constitutional Law.

27<sup>th</sup> April, 2022: The Researcher's test and Draw of Lots & Exchange of Memorial for the qualifying round was scheduled on this day in the last two lectures (from 01:35 PM onwards). The researchers of each team assembled in the room no. 102 of the first floor of the law department and the Draw of lots and the exchange of memorial was done in the moot court hall, where the other members of the team were present. The DOL was done via virtual randomize app and virtual spin wheel for the selection of opponents and pleading sides.









**28**<sup>th</sup> **April, 2022:** The day started with the inaugural ceremony. The ceremony started around 11:00 AM with the lightning of lamp followed by a video showing the glimpses of the subject moot court competitions and the moot court workshop session. The ceremony also witnessed a dance on Sarswati Vandana by Aendree Saxena and Uditi Ghosh. Later on, the participants were encouraged by the address of Prof. (Dr.) N.K Bahl and by the address of the Head of Department Prof. (Dr.) Pallavi Gupta. The session was concluded by the vote of thanks by our faculty Ms. Diksha Sareen.









After that around 11:40 AM the qualifying round started, which was judged by 14 faculty judges. Moot proceedings took place in a total 7 court rooms. The court rooms were made on the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> floor of the law department building. Each court consisted of a division bench. Result was announced by our Prof. Ms. Diksha Sareen, in which out of 14 teams, top 8 teams qualified for the Quarter Finals Round on the basis of marks.











## The qualified teams for quarters were:

 SMTC 02
 SMTC 07

 SMTC 11
 SMTC 13

 SMTC 08
 SMTC 09

 SMTC 01
 SMTC 05

The quarter final rounds were also judged by a division bench consisting of our respected faculty members. After the rounds, the result was declared by Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Bahl, in which out of 8 teams, 4 teams qualified for the Semi-finals on the knock-out basis.

The qualified teams for Semi-final are:

SMTC 01

SMTC 02

SMTC 08

SMTC 07









The day concluded with the Draw of lots & Exchange of memorial for the semi-final rounds. The Semi-final, Finals and valedictory session will be held tomorrow i.e., 29<sup>th</sup> of April, 2022.





**29<sup>th</sup> April, 2022:** The event commenced around 09:30AM with the semifinal round. All the participants showcased their prolific advocacy skills. There were total of 4 judges for the Semi-final rounds, which judges from the world of academics, Law firms, teaching and AOR in the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India. A division bench was constituted per courtroom. Prof. (Dr.) N.K. Bahl and Adv. Shavi Vats were the judge of the 1<sup>st</sup> court room and Adv. Sheeraz Wali Nomani and Adv. Garima Sharma the judge of the court room 2. Both the court rooms were setup on the 4<sup>th</sup> floor of the law department building.









The results of the same were declared by our MCS faculty co-ordinator Ms. Diksha Sareen around 11:00 AM. Out of 4 teams, 2 teams qualified for the finals of the 6th Senate Moot Court Competition, 2022.

The qualified teams for the finals were:

- 1. SMTC 01
- 2. SMTC 08





The event then proceeded towards the final round. The final round started from 11:30 AM in the Moot Court Hall. Yet again, the participants displayed efficient oratory skills. The final round was judged by a division bench of Justice Zaki Ullah Khan, Former Judge Allahabad High Court and Adv. Sibo Sankar Mishra, AOR Supreme Court of India.











With the culmination of the proceedings the event moved towards the Valedictory Ceremony. Moderators of the ceremony were Ms. Tanya Singh and Ms. Toshi Khandelwal. The session started with an valedictory video played showing the glimpses of the 6<sup>th</sup> Senate Moot Court Competition which was made by the student of 4<sup>th</sup> Sem Abhay Singh.

The ceremony was embellished with the words of wisdom by **Prof. Dr. NK Bahl, Assistant Professor, JEMTEC School of Law**, by welcoming the guests and he also appreciated all the participants for being a part of this event. Sir also emphasized on the importance of participation in moot courts for a law student, he encouraged everyone present to be a constant part of such events.

After that the moot court hall was enlightened by the words of the head of Department **Prof. Dr. Pallavi Gupta** and the director of JEMTEC Greater Noida **Prof. Dr. R.K. Raghuvanshi**. They encouraged the students to participate more in such events and praised the work of moot court society for the smooth conduct of the event.

The gathering was privileged enough to witness the valuable words Justice Zaki Ullah Khan, Former Judge Allahabad High Court who encouraged the students to participate in Moot Court Competitions. And also emphasized on the importance of repeated reading of the Moot Proposition to get well acquainted with the facts of the case, and he also threw some light on the way of presenting, that it should be well-formed and plausible. The gathering was also encouraged the words of wisdom of Adv. Sibo Sankar Mishra, AOR Supreme Court of India who talked about the importance of Moot Court Competitions and gave some advised to the Moot Court Society for the future events. The gathering was also enlightened by the words of Adv. Garima Sharma and Adv. Shavi Vats. Both been our esteemed alumni shared their valuable experience with the students and encouraged them to participate more in Moot Court Competitions.





The results of 6th Senate Moot Court Competition 2022 were disclosed by **Prof. Dr. Pallavi Gupta**, **HOD JEMTEC School of Law**.

The winners of the event were:

- 1. Winning team: SMTC 08 (Deeksha Sharma, Akansha Bhardwaj, Shruti Kumari and Priya)
- 2. Runners-up team: SMTC 01 (Siddharth Abhishek, Piyush Kumar and Ashwani Kumar)
- 3. Best Mooter: Jaya Choudhary (SMTC 02)
- 4. Best Researcher: Kritika Malik (SMTC 11)
- 5. Best Memorial: Deeksha Sharma, Akansha Bhardwaj, Shruti Kumari and Priya (SMTC 08)

The event was concluded by valedicting the winners and giving mementos to the judges and after that. Vote of thanks was delivered by our faculty **Ms. Diksha Sareen**. Not only can one see the smiles on the faces of the winners, each and every participant as well as the members of the Organising Committee were smiling after the entire competition reached its finality. The months of preparation for the event ended all well as the participants bid adieu to the competition with the experience they came looking for. The successful event was an appreciation that the Organising committee deserved for their efforts.











MOOT COURT SOCIEY JEMTEC, School of Law

Prof. (Dr.) Pallavi Gupta **HOD, School of Law**